You are currently using an unsupported browser which could affect the appearance and functionality of this website. Please consider upgrading to the latest version or using alternatives such as Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome or Microsoft Edge.

Annual Academic Meeting

The RCOG holds an Annual Academic Meeting each year to showcase the best of research in obstetrics and gynaecology in the UK, from basic science to clinical trials. Prizes are awarded for the best oral and poster presentations.

The 2-day meeting includes keynote plenary lectures, oral and poster presentations and workshops. The meeting also incorporates the Blair Bell Research Society annual meeting.

We welcome all who are actively involved in research in our specialty – academics, both junior and senior, basic scientists, NHS consultants and trainees and undergraduates.

For information about the next Annual Academic meeting, please see our Courses and events listing.

Previous Annual Academic Meetings


Read about the Annual Academic Meeting 2020.

Prize winners


  • William Cooke, first prize oral presentation
  • Isabella Smith, best medical student oral presentation
  • Colin Down, second prize, oral presentation
  • Lydia Coxon, second prize, oral presentation
  • Vanitha Sivalingam, best poster pitch presentation (Gynaecology)
  • Nina El-Ahwany, best poster pitch presentation (Obstetrics)
  • Beth Jakubowski, first prize poster presentation
  • Natasha Lawes, best medical student poster
  • Anna Collins, second prize poster presentation


  • Sarah Kitson: first prize, oral presentation
  • Lisa Campbell: runner up, oral presentation
  • Elizabeth Moore: runner up, oral presentation
  • David Jeevan: first prize, platform poster presentation
  • Rachel Pounds: first prize, poster presentation
  • Chloe Hogg: runner up, poster presentation
  • Lauren McCracken: runner up, poster presentation


  • Natalie Suff: first prize, oral presentation
  • Christina Aye: second prize, oral presentation
  • Lucy Whitaker: first prize, platform poster presentation
  • Holly Lewis: first prize, poster presentation
  • Linden Stocker: second prize, poster presentation


  • David Phelps: first prize, oral presentation
  • Richard Brown: second prize, oral presentation
  • Lindsay Kindinger: first prize, platform poster presentation
  • Joanna Marley: first prize, poster presentation


  • Kerrie Stevenson: first prize, oral presentation
  • Natasha Hezelgrave: first prize, platform poster presentation
  • Leo Gurney: first prize, poster presentation