You are currently using an unsupported browser which could affect the appearance and functionality of this website. Please consider upgrading to the latest version or using alternatives such as Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome or Microsoft Edge.

Part 1 MRCOG Sub-committee



  • 18 February 2022
  • 19 May 2022
  • 13 July 2022
  • 13 September 2022


Reporting mechanism

The Part 1 MRCOG Sub-committee reports to the Examination and Assessment Committee.


Writing the single best answer (SBA) questions and setting the papers for the Part 1 MRCOG examination, which is held twice yearly.


  • Developing a bank of SBA questions suitable for the Part 1 MRCOG examination.
  • Providing the Examination Department with draft SBA papers 6 months prior to the Part 1 MRCOG examination.
  • Reviewing the performance of examination questions and the analysis of results.
  • Modifying questions, where necessary.
  • Maintaining the question bank and writing new questions.
  • Undertaking other Part 1 examination matters, as required by the Examination and Assessment Committee.
  • Providing updates, on committee related issues, to the Examination and Assessment Committee.


4 meetings per year.

Members are required to attend at least 3 meetings.


  • Chair, selected by competitive interview, according to the approved role description
  • 15 members selected according to the approved role description
  • Chair of the Examination and Assessment Committee, ex officio


  • Mr Anthony Griffiths – Committee Chair
  • Dr Adam Levene
  • Dr Rachana Shukla
  • Mr Abdelrahman Mageed
  • Dr David Andrew Rose
  • Dr Sujatha Thamban
  • Dr Sucheta Jindal
  • Miss Roxana Mo
  • Dr Tulika Singh
  • Mr Rahul A Gore
  • Dr Bryn Kemp
  • Mr Mark Robert Chester
  • Mr Hany Mostafa
  • Dr Pragya Gupta
  • Miss Jodie Lam