You are currently using an unsupported browser which could affect the appearance and functionality of this website. Please consider upgrading to the latest version or using alternatives such as Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome or Microsoft Edge.

Gynaecological Oncology subspecialty training

Subspecialty training in Gynaecological Oncology (GO), including the curriculum and assessments

Gynaeological Oncology – Definitive Document

This is the Definitive Document for the Gynaecological Oncology curriculum 2019 approved by the GMC, which contains full details of the Gynaecological Oncology curriculum. Please use this document as a reference point.

Capabilities in Practice (CiP)

The Gynaecological Oncology curriculum is divided into 17 Capabilities in Practice (CiP).

Please see the Matrix of progression page for both the 2020-21 matrix of progression COVID-19 (for ST6-7 who have switched to the 2019 core curriculum) and the 2018-19 matrix of progression COVID-19 (for ST6-7 who are staying on the pre-2019 core curriculum).

Gynaecological Oncology Matrices (COVID-19 version)

The COVID-19 version of the matrices have been developed to accommodate the temporary derogation approved by the GMC due to the pandemic. They should be used for training until the derogation is removed by the GMC following engagement with the Statutory Education Bodies and wider system.

2-year programme

3-year programme

Mandatory courses with practical elements

All obligatory courses mandated in the GO SST curriculum/assessment matrix are derogated with the associated knowledge/skills evidenced in other ways with the current ongoing COVID pandemic situation for the time in which COVID continues to disrupt course provision. See our guidance document on RCOG eLearning outlining the mandated courses for GO SST and alternatives on how the knowledge and skills can be evidenced.

Subspecialty Curriculum guidance

See our guidance document (on RCOG eLearning website) developed to support the new Gynaecological Oncology subspecialty curriculum.

Cross specialty guidance

In order to achieve CCT at the end of subspecialty training, pre-CCT trainees following the new 2019 core curriculum are required to provide evidence for the cross specialty Capabilities in Practice (CiPs). See our guidance document on RCOG eLearning developed on how evidence for the cross specialty CiPs can be achieved.

RCOG and ESGO agreement

Read the agreement between RCOG and European Society of Gynaecological Oncology (ESGO).


In line with the previous curriculum, only the following require 3 OSATs evidencing competent independent practice for this Gynaecological Oncology subspecialty:

  • Laparoscopic hysterectomy (TLH)
  • Groin lymphadenectomy
  • Laparoscopic pelvic lymph node dissection
  • Open pelvic lymph node dissection
  • Open para-aortic lymph node disection
  • Vulvectomy
  • Radical Hysterectomy
  • Total omentectomy
  • Small bowel resection and anastomosis
  • Large bowel resection with formation of colostomy
  • Diaphragmatic peritoneal stripping +/- resection 

However, it is recommended that the other specific procedural skills listed in the procedure table in the curriculum which also require Level 5 sign-off should also ideally be evidenced by at least 3 competent OSATs where possible before sign-off.

You have to be competent in the below:

  • Major gynaecological oncology procedures
    (Total Laparoscopic hysterectomy (TLH), Groin lymphadenectomy, Open para-aortic lymph node dissection, Vulvectomy, Radical Hysterectomy, Total omentectomy, Small bowel resection and anastomosis, Large bowel resection with formation of colostomy, Diaphragmaticperitoneal stripping +/- resection)
  • Pelvic lymph node dissection (laparoscopic/open)
    3 OSATs evidencing competent independent practice would be required each for laparoscopic and open

Find out more

If you need any help or advice, email the Advanced Training Coordinator at  or call +44 20 7045 6789.